The Bridge, Endeavour and Major Crimes disappoint

FX’s PR machine went into overdrive for its new show The Bridge, a tense crime drama set on the Texas–Mexico border, so my expectations rose, only to be dashed. It tries too hard to be edgy and different; Diane Kruger’s character is unlikeable and the story hard to handle. Of course I will watch this week…maybe it’ll grow on me.

I complained last year when Endeavour premiered on PBS’ Masterpiece (young Inspector Morse) because the actor seemed so lame and looks and acts NOTHING like the late John Thaw. I watched the first two in the series and was bored out of my skull. Lackluster performances. Of course I will watch next week…maybe he’ll grow on me.

Major Crimes, on TNT, has really gone down hill and I’ve been trying to pinpoint why. The lousy scripts and inane situations? Good actors forced to recite stupid dialog? Unbelievable situations where the victim is almost ALWAYS a female? All of the above?

I’ve never been a Mary McDonnell fan, even in her Wolves days. Her voice and demeanor set my teeth on edge. And what in heck happened to Tom Berenger? He looks so puffy and injected. Didn’t watch Hatfields & McCoys and hadn’t seen old Tom in a while so I wasn’t prepared for how Mickey Rourkeish he looks. Meow.

One thought on “The Bridge, Endeavour and Major Crimes disappoint

Leave a Reply

