Lost in translation

Ok, I admit it. I was attracted to the film noir cover of Michael Ondaatje’s novel “Divisadero.” Its Northern California setting, a trio of star-crossed lovers, and the fact Ondaatje’s the guy who wrote “The English Patient,” helped cinch the deal. However, after limping through all 273 pages I came to the painful conclusion that I’m simply not smart enough to understand this book. It was a muddled, confusing mess to me. Was it translated from the Dutch maybe? Or Sri Lankan perhaps?

Leave a Reply

