Who talks like that in real life?

In a June 25 New Yorker review of a Film Forum showing of 1977’s “Annie Hall,” (one of my least favorite movies—I really loathe it), author Richard Brody refers to the following:

“Signal work of first-person cinematic modernism”

“A Eurocentric art-house self-awareness and a psychoanalytic obsession”

Huh? What does that mean?

The June 25 New York Times was no better. I site the title of an op-ed piece: “A Pyrrhic Victory.” Naturally I had to look it up (pyrrhic, not victory). I refuse to admit I’m simply not smart enough to read these two publications.

Leave a Reply

